Omaha Cricket Association


Omaha Cricket Association Lincoln Cricket Club v Challengers on Sat 23 Jul 2011 at 9:00 AM
Omaha Cricket Association Won by 64 runs

Match report LCC storm into the finals!

LCC had confirmed their spot in the semis by winning a well fought battle with the Musketeers last week. They faced the Challengers who were seeded the third in the points table because they were at number 2 position right below Hunters.
LCC captain lost the toss for the third time in a row and was invited to bat on that cloudy saturday morning. Well experienced Sudhir Ponnanppan, partnered by one of the new members of the club, Vivek Sharma was sent to the middle to open the account. The pair stamped authority in the middle straight away with some cracking blows by the youngster and elegant steers by the veteran, which kept the score board ticking. Vivek was the first to depart after making a quick fire 20 and the highlight of that cameo was the six over long on off the bowling of Sudhakar. This brought the LCC captain Nandun in to the middle. He put on a decent partnership with Sudhir just like they have done many times in the past for LCC. Runs were accumulated freely till Sudhir was removed by Sanndeep Raju where Asad took an easy catch at covers. But the openers had done their job by laying a good foundation for the middle order to capitalize on. Gowtham came to the crease and straight away started to rotate the strike. Nandun and Gowtham put on a crucial partnership displaying the current form both of them were in. Gowtham milked runs all around the field showing how technically sound he is while Nandun dominated the leg side with his pulls and slog sweeps. Nandun got out after he made 51 runs in 32 balls and he hit 7 boundaries and 1 six over fine leg in the process. Gowtham was there till the end to take LCC to a huge score of 175. Rampi sealed the deal for the LCC batting unit by showing some fireworks in the last 3 overs where he hit several of his trademark sixes over long on.

Needing almost 9 runs per over, the Challengers sent their keeper Karan Sharma and Sandeep Raju to open the batting. Karan managed to score only 2 runs and got out after giving an easy catch to Rampi in the first over it self, which was bowled by the youngster Naren. Naren fired once again by taking the prize wicket of the third leading run scorer of the season Arun Akula. The tall, "well built" fast bowler Anuj hit twice in one over to remove Sandeep Raju and the Challengers captain Manju. The batting unit of Challengers never really got going while the required run rate mounted higher and higher taking their dream of finals further away from them. Vijay D also chipped in with bagging the two wickets of Asad and Anjani while Rampi and vivek got one wicket each. For challengers, Senthil and Praveen put on a resisting partnership in the end but were tamed by the slow bowlers of LCC.

The "well oiled machine" LCC proved that they should be in the finals by restricting the Challengers to a score of 111. And now the question remains will they discharge the Chargers or hunt the Hunters at the final.
LCC skipper was the man of the match for his dominating half century.

Man of the Match - Nandun (LCC) - 51 runs

Omaha Cricket Association Lincoln Cricket Club Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 4 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Sudhir Ponnappan ct Asad b Sandeep R 20
Vivek Sharma ct Asad b Praveen K 20
Nandun Thellamurege ct Arun A b Anjani 51
Gowtham Maranani Not Out  29
Vineeth Yeddula ct Sandeep R b Senthil 11
Ramaprasad Cheruku Not Out  24
Naren Parimi  
Prem Thirugnanam  
Raghav Balasubramanian  
Anuj Sharma  
Vijay Durvasula  

Challengers Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Sudhakar N2.001800.009.00
Senthil R3.0025125.008.33
Arun A4.003300.008.25
Praveen K4.0031131.007.75
Sandeep R2.0021121.0010.50
Anjani K3.0036136.0012.00
Manjunath S2.002100.0010.50

Challengers Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 9 wickets
111 (0.0 overs)
Karan S ct Rampi b Naren 2
Sandeep R b Anuj S 17
Arun A ct Vijay D b Naren 4
Asad S b Vijay D 11
Manjunath S ct Rampi b Anuj S 0
Sudhakar N Run out  0
Praveen K ct Anuj S b Rampi 23
Anjani lbw Vijay D 4
Senthil R ct Sudhir b Vivek 19
Zafer G Not Out  2
No Data  

Omaha Cricket Association Lincoln Cricket Club Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Naren Parimi3.001628.005.33
Prem Thirugnanam3.001700.005.67
Anuj Sharma2.001226.006.00
Vijay Durvasula3.0025212.508.33
Raghav Balasubramanian2.002100.0010.50
Gowtham Maranani1.00500.005.00
Vivek Sharma2.00616.003.00
Ramaprasad Cheruku1.0010110.0010.00